Rich Morris' Comics - YAFGC and The ComixBlog

Discussion forum for fans of YAFGC and Rich's ComixBlog. Because all the cool webcomics have one.

Jump to YAFGC / Jump to The ComixBlog

It is currently Wed Dec 12, 2018 5:28 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  Page 1 of 1
 [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Queen Glamor
PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2018 6:18 pm 
Goblin
Goblin

Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 5:11 pm
Posts: 33
We know the story of her rule now, and I have to say, she is sorta... underwhelming...

We can see here that she is remembered as a visionary, a person ahead her time, but, does she really deserve that reputation?

Her "vision" was "wouldn't it be great if everybody got along?", but she didn't have the slightest idea about how to advance towards that ideal... the orc raids didn't stop even during the reign of Halvelock, and the kings that followed were all hostile to Elengrost... All she did was to stop her own people from hitting back, showing weakness in the eyes of the orcs, and pissing her own subjects...

Her greatest "achievement" was to sleep with a friendly orc noble, and she was delusional/naive/dumb enough that she thought people would accept his offspring as royal princesses...

She did understand neither her own people nor the orcs... I guess it's easy to be believer in peace and harmony when you think everybody will play nice just because you wish them to do so...

She was sort of like if somebody thought they could have Israel and Iran to be friends just by telling them "wouldn't it nice if we all were friends?"

And when her loved ones were hit, she threw her idealism through the window and went to the deep end of hate and wrath... It is easy to believe in peace and fairness when you aren't suffering, but not so much when you are personally affected...

Your thoughts?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Queen Glamor
PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2018 2:01 pm 
Demigod
Demigod
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 4:26 am
Posts: 3272
Location: Home of the Wolves
As noted in the story thread, she's pretty much a pure idealist. Such types tend to focus far more on the ideal and theory than reality. And yes, they get mean when their delusions are shattered.

_________________
Got spam?

Then you are a bot and must be banned.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  Page 1 of 1
 [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 4 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Chronicles phpBB2 theme by Jakob Persson. Stone textures by Patty Herford.
With special thanks to RuneVillage